The National Soaring Museum's...

National Landmark of Soaring Program

The “National Landmark of Soaring” Program was established on 24 May 1980. The guidelines were approved sometime thereafter (17 Oct 1981?) and published in NSM Quarterly (vol 4 no 3 1981), in conjunction with the report of the National Landmark of Soaring No.1 at Cape Cod. The guidelines were revised and approved by the Board of Trustees on 4 March 1993.

Purpose: To identify and memorialize sites, individuals, or historic events related to the national history of motorless flight; and in the process collect, preserve and interpret documents and materials related to each approved Landmark. Click on each Landmark site to see photos and read articles relating to that site.

Note: The National Soaring Museum offers many of the commemorative Landmark of Soaring souvenir envelopes for sale in the Windrider Gift Shop. Please click here to visit our online store.

  1. Truro, Cape Cod, Massachusetts
    13 June 1981
  2. Rhodes Farm, Elmira, New York
    10 July 1982
  3. Fulton Airport, Akron, Ohio
    29 June 1985
  4. Frankfort, Michigan
    9 May 1992
  5. Torrey Pines, San Diego, California
    6 June 1992
  6. Waynesboro, Virginia
    17 September 1993
  7. Point Loma, San Diego, California
    27 April 1996
  8. Marquette Park, Miller Beach, Gary, Indiana
    27 July 1996
  9. Nuuanu Pali Lookout, Honolulu, Hawaii
    8 December 1996
  10. Arvin-Sierra Gliderport, Tejon Ranch, Arvin, California
    29 April 2000
  11. Harris Hill, Elmira, New York
    1 July 2000
  12. Sierra Wave Project, Bishop, California Airport
    15 June 2002
  13. Raspet Flight Research Laboratory, Mississippi State University, Starkville, Mississippi
    1 November 2003
  14. Mount Washington, New Hampshire
    8 October 2005
  15. Marfa, Texas
    5 April 2008
  16. Nags Head, Outer Banks, North Carolina
    21 October 2011

Return to Educational Programs
Return to the main page